Local Travel

More than 3000 people run for nation in 12th Mega Marathon



More than 3000 runners ran for the nation today in the 12th Mega Marathon, organised by United Peoples Front, Manipur under Athletic Association of Manipur.

The marathon which was flagged off by Minster of forest and environment Th. Shyamkumar in front of Khuman Lampak Hockey Stadium passed through Dingku road, Chingmeirong, Assembly road, Khoyathong road, Nagamapal road, RIMS road, Uripok road, Naoremthong Tera, Kwakeithel, Pishumthong road, Chingamathak, Kongba, Ayangpalli, Porompat crossing, JNIMS road, Lamlong bridge and concluded with one round of the running track at Khuman Lampak main stadium.

The 21.5 km long marathon which was taken part by young and old was also joined by 170 runners coming from outside the state.

The marathon has been conducted since 2007 with the motive to help the youths in abstaining from drugs and to make a healthy Manipur, and it is not related with any sporting discipline.

Shankarman Thapa from 58 GTC Happy Valley, Shillong wearing chest number 4014 stood in the first position for the Men’s category by completing the marathon in 1 hour 3 minutes and 6 seconds which was followed by L.R. Lulher, chest No 2694 from Senapati district taking 1 hour 4 minutes and 3 seconds and Khaidem Roshan from Tera Khongsangbi in the third position finishing the marathon in 1 hour 5 minutes and 37 seconds.

In the Women’s category, Nongthombam Chaoba, chest no. 451 of Luwangsangbam, who is participating the marathon for the fourth time finished the marathon in 1 hour 24 minutes and 47 seconds to top the marathon. Second position holder, Tayengjam Russia of Ngairangbam, chest no. 029 took 1 hour 25 minutes 41 seconds and Sagolsem Premila, chest no. 321 of Yairipok Kekru completed the marathon in 1 hour 26 minutes 34 seconds to claim the third position.

The prize distribution ceremony was also held at Khuman Lampak main stadium where speaker of Manipur Legislative Assembly, Yumnam Khemchand attended as chief guest, W. Second as president and president of Athletic Association of Manipur, Leishangthem Ajit as guest of honour.

A cash prize of Rs.40,000, Rs.30,000 and Rs.20,000 were awarded to first, second and third position holders of both the categories. Also, 13 participants each from both the categories were awarded a cash prize of Rs.3000 each as consolations.



You may also like